Welcome to beautiful Livatho…
The Aria is to be found in the village of Lakithra.The Village has striking views over much of the Livatho Region.
A region with outstanding natural beauty which lies over the south western part of Kefallinia, the larger and prettier island of the Ionian Sea. Every village has a story, every corner has a memory. History with tradition and present with evolution give the character of a “noble” area with rich cultural tradition.
The extinguishing character of Livatho is consisted of the divine sandy beaches, in combination to flat and mountain regions, and attracts lots of visitors and guests who are compensated for this choice by the natural beauty in addition to the high quality of the provided touristic services.
Other interesting places of our municipality are also the archaeological sites, the traditional villages, the outstanding churches and the latest sites.
The municipality of Livatho, being a place with rich cultural tradition, can display diversity and quality in its cultural activities.
The municipalities of Upper & Lower Livatho and Ikosimia, were formed in 1866, as a part of Kranea Province. In 1869, all three municipalities were united, composing the municipality of Livatho, which constituted an A class municipality, based on its population (11.972 residents) having Metaxata town as capita.Following successive changes of boundaries and emblems, thw municipality’s boundaries were fixed on the same ones of 1869.The present municipality is composed of the following eleven municipal departments:
Karavados, Keramies (Dorizata), Lakithra (Fokata, Karantinata), Lourdata, Metaxata (Kourkoumelata, Kaligata, Ntomata),
Moussata (Poriarata, Karoyza, Trapezaki), Peratata (Kastro, Travliata, Mazarakata), Pessada, Spartia (Koriana, Klismata, Kountourata), Svoronata (Sarlata), Vlahata (Simotata)
Livatho’s residents started traveling early on, as a resault, there was a fleet of 300 ships at the area, 90 of which were owned by the Spartines.A large commercial network was shortly developed by the residents of Livatho, at the Mediterranean Sea as well as at the Sea of Marmaras, with a result of turning their villages into the richest of the Island.
On the west of Livathos borders on the Argostoli Municipality, on the north on the Argostoli Municipality and Omalon Community, on the east on the Eliou Pronon Municipality, while the southern part is beside Ionian Sea. The natural border with the northern regions is the mountain of Enos, which provides the area with ample water and the conditions for very fertile ground. The rich physical characteristics of Livatho make it a place of unforgettable experiences. The upper Livatho area combines picturesque mountainous and coastal areas with the villages extending from the south foot of Enos to the Ionian Sea. Additionally, Enos is known for the “black fir-tree”. At lower Livatho the natural environment is absolutely harmonized with the manmade characteristics.
Ai Chelis (Saint Achileus): A small picturesque organized beach of gray –colored sand, near Svoronata area and a worth seeing walking path to get there.
Ammes: An organized sandy beach at Svoronataarea with crystal clear waters (as in all beaches in Livatho).
Avithos: Considered by many to be the best beach at Lower Livatho. It is a sandy organized beach with crystal shallow water, suitable for windsurfing as well.
Ayia Pelagia (Saint Pelagia): The homonymous bay and cape between Ai-Chelis and Ammes beach, it is also a mooring place. This place is connected to the national liberal battle of the Greeks, as the Kefalinian volunteers set sail to Peloponessos area.
Ayios Thomas (Saint Thomas): A both sandy and rocky beach, at Karavados area.
Klimatsias: A small sandy beach of Spartia scenic village, ideal for calm moments and swimming.
Lithero: A quiet beach within a small distance from Lourdas where the visitor may enjoy calm swimming and sunbathing moments.
Lourdas: Long sandy beach, near which there are vegetable olive-tree and orange-tree gardens as well as tropical plants.
Paliolinos: a small beach past Koriana-Klismata area.
Trapezaki: Before arriving at the beach, do not forget to visit the country church of Virgin Mary, where an old silver icon is sheltered, situated at a hill full of pine-trees.
Ayios Georgios Castle (Castle of Saint George): An administrative and military place of the island until 1757,built between 1504 and 1534, when the Venetian engineer N. Tsimaras enclosed the castle. The castle was destroyed during the Spanish –Venetian siege of the surrounded Turks, who dominated the island for few years. The castle of St. George has a long history, starting from the ancient years. The internal part, with an area of 16,000 Sq. m. includes public building ruins that were recently under reconstruction, the Ayios Nikolaos (Saint Nicolas) church, the internal part of three bastions and many others.
Mazarakata: The excavations of Kavadias, at the first decade of the 20th century, brought into light the most important post-Minoan massive graves (84 grave cases), pert of the funeral gifts was taken. Moreover, 55 important findings were excavated (1810-1812) under the donations of De Bosset at Mazarakata and are nowadays kept at this homeland at Neauchatel.
Ecclesiastical Byzantine Museum: The Museum is within Ayios Andreas Milapidias (st. Andrew of Milapidia) monastery, having many rare 13th to 19th century exhibits, such as vestments, wooden sculptures, wall paintings, needlecrafts and icons.
There are also many remarkable ex hibits from almost all the graves of the wider area, at Argostoli Archaeological Museum. Additionally, the private collection of Fragiskos and Stefanos Valianos, with icons and other rare objects are kept at “Argostoli Korgialenios” Library.
Ayios andreas Milapidias (st. Andreas of Milapidia) monastery: A very old monastery, rebuilt in 1579 by Neophitos Romanos and Gasparos Migardos. A boarfing school for young girls was founded in the years 1830-1835 by the Dixons couple. The holly temple of “Ayios Andreas” was reconstructed with donations of the benefactors Mazarakis and Mpasias.The relics of Saint Andrew are kept within the monastery. The Ecclesiastical Byzantine Museum is situated beside the monastery.
Monastery of Christ on the Cross: the Valsamakides family gave it to their monk brother at 1602, so that he could form commune. Today the homonymous icon is kept at the Pessada “Evagelistria” church while the “Panagia Diotissa-Vlachernon” icon is kept at the monastery.
Sissia Monastery: The monastery which, according to the tradition, was built in the 13th century by “Ayios Fragiskos Assizis” (Saint Fragiskos of Assizi), was totally destroyed by the 1953 earthquake. Both an orthodox and a catholic service took place daily. The “PanagiaAkathistou” icon created in 1700 by hagiographer Stephanos Tzagarolas.
Dias islet-Panagia Diotissa/Panagia Vlachernon: The islet may be visited by boat from Pessada, as it is only half a mile away from the shore. One hundred steps lead to a 24m altitude, where the “Panagia Diotissa” monastery, built on the remains of “Dias” (Zeus) temple, is situated. The monastery celebration is in July the 2nd.
“Evagelistrias Kastrou” Temple (Temple of the Evangelist Virgin Mary of the castle):
Characterized by the distinguished bell-tower, this temple was built on a hill on the north side of which there is the dominating “Ayios Georgios” castle (St. George Castle). It is literally a museum that contains valuable exhibits of unique icons, from several temples of the area.
Worth Mentioning: The neoclassic “George and Mary Vergotis center” building. Various festivities are organized at the centre, thus contributing to the area cultural profile. In addition, there is an athletic stadium that can be used by residents and visitors for athletic activities.
Vlachata:The village is built at the side of Enos mountain. “Ayia Marina” (Saint Marina” church survived the 1953 earthquake.
Dorizata: A small, quiet village, the origin of the distinguished archbishop Gerasimos Dorizas (III). The road connecting Krania to the Upper Livatho villages was constructed at the period of the English holding.
Kaligata: Admire the beautiful, baroque (1804) wooden sculptured iconostasis and the impressive bell-tower, at the Virgin Mary church, an 18th century building. This was the origin of the archbishop of Kefallinia and later of Athens, Germanos Kaligas, as well as the distinguished university professor Pavlos Kaligas.
Karavados: The small, picturesque village, with yards full of flowers, where there is the church of Saints Konstantinos & Eleni, with the only marble iconostasis on the island. Do not forget to stop at the idyllic plane tree area and drink fresh spring water outside the village, descending to “Ayios Thomas” (Saint Thomas) beach.
Keramies: The name of the area may originate from an old ceramics workshop.The Russian “Ayios Vasillios” (Saint Vassilios) temple is of important value. The village is the origin of the well –known shipowning families of Valiani and Likiardopouli.
Kourkoumelata: A beautiful village. The elaboratye buildings, the modern village planning and the artistic gardens, compose an idyllic environment, which is considered the most beautiful in Balkans. The 1953 earthquakes totally destroyed it.
It was reconstructed thanks to the donation of Georgios Vergotis who gifted the newly-built houses to the land owners.
Lakithra: Lord Byron used to compose poems with a view to the Ionian Sea, sitting at the presently known as Byron’s Rock. Four post-Minoan graves were found at the excavations near the “Ayios Nicolaos” (Saint Nicolas) church.
Lourdata: A village filled with country houses and gardens within only half –a-kilometer distance from Lourdas beach. The above beach is unique because of the ample springs and the numerous vegetable and tree gardens. The “Ayia Paraskevi” country church with the unique, 14th century hagiographies, just above the village square, is worth visiting.
Metaxata: This has for years been the chair of Kefallinia archbishops. Lord Byron stayed at the house of Stravolemos Metaxas (the doctor of Ali pasha) for about four months, before heading to Messologi. The famous archaeologist Marinatos, excavated three Minoan graves at “Chalikera” area in 1953.
Moussata: It is one of the Ikosimia villages (like Vlachata and Simotata), known for its honey of coniferous trees and thyme, the sweet-smelling country bread, as well as the two remaining olive material (of old-type oil press) and woven rugs workshops.
Ntomata: You may visit the church of “The Presentation of the Virgin Mary”, ih an outstanding gold-plated iconostasis (by melting 12,000 pounds), as well as the coffin of Grigorios IV, which was saved and brought at Ntomata by Captain Georgios Sklavos in 1821. A very old olive tree stands just outside the village.
Pessada: During the summer months, there is everyday sea transportation to Zante Island from the port. You may visit the temple of “Evangelist Virgin Mary”, a 19th century building, where the miraculous icon of Virgin Mary is kept, as well as a beautiful icon of Christ on the Cross. Pessada village has recently been linked to the Apostle Pavlos wreckage, through recent research on the Apostolic Actions.
Poriarata: An upper-Livatho village, at the Ikosimia area, built amphitheatrically within olive trees and flowers. There is a location named “tou Episkopou” (meaning the Bishop’s), which refers to a large, old estate owned by bishop Jeremiah of Maini.
Sarlata: A small, scenic and remote village, ideal for a quiet stay, the first to be met when entering Livatho from the direction of Argostoli. The famous Livatho band was founded in Sarlata area.Captain Fokas is buried at “Ayios Athanassios”, the central church.
Svoronata: A village of Kefallinian architecture houses and characteristic doors, samples of the old art of the Kefallinian ironmongers. The imposing bell-tower of “Ayios Nikolaos” (Saint Nicolas), protector of the sailors, is very impressive. Svoronata is the origin of colonel Svoronos, who took action in 1912 at Macedonia area.
Simotata: According to an old Lixouri Saying, this village is known for the local cheese.
Spartia-Koriana-Klismata: Three beautiful villages, where there are old mansions, samples of the local architecture. Spartia is the origin of Evagelos Panas, who took action in 1821 at the “Lalas’ battle. Visit the small private church of “Ayios Gerasimos” (Saint Gerasimos) at spartia and admire the neat 15th century bell –tower.
Travliata-Peratata: The church of “Sotiras” (The Saviour) at Travliata, with the old “lady of Angels” (of Ambrossio Mporini) iconostasis, is remarkable. Both villages are built along the central road leading to Poros.
- Livatho is a place full of life, cultural and social activities. Numerous festivals and festivities cover all seasons, especially the summer period. The festivities include exhibitions, music, dance, choir and theatrical performances, speeches and revivals of customs, such as:
The “Ayios Vassilios Keramion” (Saint Vassilios of Keramies) celebration.
Carnivals and masquerades in the Carnival Season at Kourkoumelata, Peratata and Vlachata.
Shrove Monday feast at Agia Pelagia beach at Svoronata, with dancing festivities and Lenten food.
The “Evagelistria” castle (castle of the Evangelist Virgin Mary) celebration at Pessada, in March 25th.
Easter days at “Evagelistria” castle, Sissia and “Ayios Andreas Milapidias” monastery.
The icon procession from the Sissia monastery to the castle, on easter monday (since 1676).
The festival of the Ancension of Christ country church, at Svoronata.
The ‘Konstantinos & Eleni church celebration at Karavados.
The Virgin Mary church celebration at Trapezaki, at the Holy spirit Day.
Mostly summer festivities at the Kourkoumelata intellectual centre.
The Antimiri and the “Ayios Spiridonas” festivals at Paliolinos.
The “Ayia Marina” (Saint Marina) festival, in July 17th, at Vlachata.
The “Ayia Anni” (Saint Anna) day, in July 25th, at Lakithra.
The Saviour day, in August 6th, at Travliata and Kalligata.
The “Ayios andreas” day, in November 30th, at the homonymous monastery, as well as the “Zoodochos Pigi” (the life-giving Virgin Mary) day.
Olive Trees: Large areas have been cultivated from early on. The local olive tree varieties produce fine quality olive –oil. There is an exemplary olive-oil packing-up unit at Moussata area.
Robola Wine of Kefalonia: Robola of Kefallinia, a wine for connoisseurs, has deservedly earned the title “Appellation of Origin of High Quality” and is ranked among the best Jellenic wines. The superb quality of Robola wine of Kefalonia is guaranteed by the grape owners themselves. The tough but neat grape cultivation in the Zone of robola (Vlachata, Simotata, Mousata), of rocky soil hills, produces small yield per acre of superior quality. The taste and scent of this wine will harmoniously accompany any unforgettable time of your life.
Animal Breeding: animal breeding is developed at the area, an important number of units has been included in the Biological Breeding Project. A sheep-yogurt production unit is situated at Mataxata area.
Tradional Pastry: The traditional Kephallinian pastry combines the quality and your sweet memories. Mantoles (sugar coated almond), confeto, honey coated almond, nugat, sesame snack, barboule and greek delight, are some of the pastries you may try in the island.
- MUNICIPALITY OF LIVATHO 26710-68232,68262
HOSPITAL (ARGOSTOLI) 26710-24641,23230
FIRST AID 166
REGIONAL HEALTH CENTER (KERAMIES) 26710-69101
REGIONAL HEALTH CENTER (KARAVADOS) 26710-69387
POLICE STATION ARGOSTOLI 26710-22200/100
PORT AUTHORITY ARGOSTOLI 26710-22224
FIRE BRIGADE 199
ELECTRICAL DAMAGE (ARGOSTOLI) 26710-22240
EMERGENCY PHONE NUMBER 6944288100
(FIRE BRIGAGE VEHICLE OF LIVATHO) 6944288100
KEFALLINIA AIR TERMINAL (MINIES) 26710-41511