The Village of Lakithra has striking views over most of the Livatho Region.
A region with outstanding natural beauty which lies over the south western part of Kefallinia, the larger and prettier island of the Ionian Sea.
Every village has a story, every corner has a memory. History with tradition and present with evolution give the character of a “noble” area with rich cultural tradition.
The extinguishing character of Livatho consists of the divine sandy beaches, in combination to flat and mountainous regions, and attracts lots of visitors and guests who are compensated for their choice by the natural beauty.
Some other interesting places of our municipality are the archaeological sites, the traditional villages & the outstanding churches.
The municipality of Livatho, being a place with rich cultural tradition, can display diversity and quality in its cultural activities.
The municipalities of Upper, Lower Livatho & Ikosimia, were formed in 1866, as a part of Kranea Province.
In 1869, all three municipalities were united, composing the municipality of Livatho, which constituted an A class municipality, based on its population (11.972 residents) having Metaxata town as capital.
Following successive changes of boundaries and emblems, the municipality’s boundaries were fixed on the same ones of 1869.
Livatho’s residents started traveling early on, as a result, there was a fleet of 300 ships at the area, 90 of which were owned by the Spartines.
A large commercial network was shortly developed by the residents of Livatho, at the Mediterranean Sea as well as at the Sea of Marmaras, which as a result turned their villages into some of the most prosperous in the Island.
On the west of Livathos borders on the Argostoli Municipality, on the north on the Argostoli Municipality and Omalon Community, on the east on the Eliou Pronon Municipality, while the southern part is beside Ionian Sea.
The natural border with the northern regions is the mountain of Enos, which provides the area with ample water and the conditions for very fertile ground.
The rich physical characteristics of Livatho make it a place of unforgettable experiences. The upper Livatho area combines picturesque mountainous and coastal areas with the villages extending from the south foot of Enos to the Ionian Sea.
Additionally, Enos is known for the “black fir-tree”. At lower Livatho the natural environment is absolutely harmonized with the man-made characteristics.
(Castle of Saint George): An administrative and military place of the island until 1757,built between 1504 and 1534, when the Venetian engineer N. Tsimaras enclosed the castle. The castle was destroyed during the Spanish –Venetian siege of the surrounded Turks, who dominated the island for few years. The castle of St. George has a long history, starting from the ancient years. The internal part, with an area of 16,000 Sq. m. includes public building ruins that were recently under reconstruction, the Ayios Nikolaos (Saint Nicolas) church, the internal part of three bastions and many others.
The excavations of Kavadias, at the first decade of the 20th century, brought into light the most important post-Minoan massive graves (84 grave cases), pert of the funeral gifts was taken. Moreover, 55 important findings were excavated (1810-1812) under the donations of De Bosset at Mazarakata and are nowadays kept at this homeland at Neauchatel.
The Museum is within Ayios Andreas Milapidias (st. Andrew of Milapidia) monastery, having many rare 13th to 19th century exhibits, such as vestments, wooden sculptures, wall paintings, needlecrafts and icons.
There are also many remarkable exhibits from almost all the graves of the wider area, at Argostoli Archaeological Museum. Additionally, the private collection of Fragiskos and Stefanos Valianos, with icons and other rare objects are kept at “Argostoli Korgialenios” Library.
(st. Andreas of Milapidia) monastery: A very old monastery, rebuilt in 1579 by Neophitos Romanos and Gasparos Migardos. A boarfing school for young girls was founded in the years 1830-1835 by the Dixons couple. The holly temple of “Ayios Andreas” was reconstructed with donations of the benefactors Mazarakis and Mpasias.The relics of Saint Andrew are kept within the monastery. The Ecclesiastical Byzantine Museum is situated beside the monastery.
The monastery which, according to the tradition, was built in the 13th century by “Ayios Fragiskos Assizis” (Saint Fragiskos of Assizi), was totally destroyed by the 1953 earthquake. Both an orthodox and a catholic service took place daily. The “PanagiaAkathistou” icon created in 1700 by hagiographer Stephanos Tzagarolas.
Dias islet-Panagia Diotissa/Panagia Vlachernon: The islet may be visited by boat from Pessada, as it is only half a mile away from the shore. One hundred steps lead to a 24m altitude, where the “Panagia Diotissa” monastery, built on the remains of “Dias” (Zeus) temple, is situated. The monastery celebration is in July the 2nd.
(Temple of the Evangelist Virgin Mary of the castle):
Characterized by the distinguished bell-tower, this temple was built on a hill on the north side of which there is the dominating “Ayios Georgios” castle (St. George Castle). It is literally a museum that contains valuable exhibits of unique icons, from several temples of the area.
Worth Mentioning: The neoclassic “George and Mary Vergotis center” building. Various festivities are organized at the centre, thus contributing to the area cultural profile. In addition, there is an athletic stadium that can be used by residents and visitors for athletic activities.
Aghios Gerasimos is the patron saint of the island. On its feast day, the monastery is swarming with pilgrims. According to tradition, he was born in Trikala of Korinthia and was a member of the famous Notaras family. He became a monk and spent twelve years in the Holy Land and five years in Zakynthos. He came to Kefalonia in 1560 and stayed in the cave of the same name, south of Argostoli.
Later, he founded the monastery and took residence there until his death on 15 August, 1579. Two years later, on 20 October, 1581, his relics were placed inside the monastery. He was canonized in 1622. At the courtyard, there is a big plane tree and a well, which is said to have been dug by the saint himself. Inside, there is a trap-door where he is said to have spent the greater part of his life. On the 15th of August and the 20th of October, big festivals and processions take place. Many miracles are connected to the saint’s relics and icon.
Fiscardo is a picturesque and beautiful Greek harbour village on the Northern tip of Kefalonia, largest of the seven Ionian islands.
Of the approximate 365 villages on this large and diverse island, Fiscardo is unique in that it was left virtually undamaged during the great earthquake of 1953,that ruined most of the historic buildings in Kefalonia.
The castle (Kastro) of Assos, the focal point of Assos’s peninsula, was built by the Venetians in the late 16th century in order to protect the city from pirate raids.
Today, one can still admire part of the walls and the arched entrance gate. In the Castle, one can see the ruins of the Venetian High Commissioner’s house, the barracks and the church of Agios Markos.
From here, the view of the sea and the lovely bay of Mirtos is so unique it attracts many tourists.
The beacon is situated in Fanari, near Argostoli. It was built in 1820, styled after an English design.
During an earthquake in 1953, it was destroyed , but it has been restored to its original state.
Drogarati cave stands a few kilometres outside the town of Sami. It is 45 metres in width, 21 metres in depth, and 9 metres in length. It consists of two parts.
The upper part has collapsed and only huge stalactites of different colours remain. The second part is the cave proper (65 x 45 m), which is accessible to tourists and houses cultural events.
It has extraordinary acoustics, thus its name: “Hall of Apotheosis”. The cave can accommodate about 500 viewers. The regulated lighting in combination with the multi-coloured stalactites creates a picture of unique beauty.
The area of Karavomilos is situated northwest of Sami. After an investigation conducted by Yannis Petrohilos and, in 1963, from the Austrian scientists Zolt and Maurin, it was discovered that the waters, which one loses track of in Katavothres, flow into the village of Karavomilos by underground rivers every 15 days.
Thus, a small salt-water lake has been created here. This unique phenomenon attracts many tourists to the area.
Katavothres, situated 3 km outside Argostoli in the area of Fanari, constitute a peculiar geological phenomenon. At first it was observed that the water from the sea went into the ground through holes and then it disappeared. After a thorough investigation, initially performed by Ioannis Petrohilos and in 1963 by the Austrian scientists Zolt and Maurin, it was discovered that the water, through underground rivers, flooded in the village of
Karavomilos, in the east, 15 km away and in the spring Fridi at Agia Eyfimia, after approximately 15 days. In this area, in the early 20th century, there was a hydroelectric factory and ice factory, for the exploitation of the underground water.
The cave of Melissani, outside Sami, is one of the most significant sights on the island. As the excavations of 1963 have shown, it has taken its name from the nymph Melissanthi. These excavations brought to light aspects of the nymph, a statuette, and an earthen tray with a depiction of Pan. In 1951, an ancient lamp, which is now on display in the Archaeological Museum of Argostoli, was also found there.
The cave is 40 metres in width, 36 metres in height, and 3.5 metres in length. Inside, it is covered by water 20 to 30 meters in depth due to the collapse of a part of the roof. Small crafts carry visitors there to admire the spectacular sight of the stalactites and the changing colours of the water. An artificial balcony offers an enchanting view from the top of the cave.
Undisputably,one of the most beautiful beaches in greece and one of the world’s best. The white shore meets the blue of the sea which is present in every possible shade. The view from the stopover on the road high above Myrtos, is simply unmatched.
Well preserved mosaics and designs, dating to the 3rd century AD, in the ruins of a roman villa discovered in excavations carried out in the area of Skala.